Oxford Parl
No
Display career categories
Off
Volume type
MP

Essex

Most of the Essex knights of the shire whose names survive were leading figures at court or in government. This is not surprising in a county adjacent to London, although its self-sufficiency in the matter is shown by the fact that only three of the eight—or, if Sir Henry Marney sat for his native shire in 1523, nine—were not of Essex birth. Two of the newcomers, Thomas Bonham of unknown but perhaps Wiltshire origin, and William Petre, of a Devon family, married into their adopted county, and Richard Rich first established himself there as a servant of John de Vere, 15th Earl of Oxford.

Weymouth

Leland described Weymouth as a ‘townlet’ opposite Melcombe Regis, but it was the larger and older of the two, with a quay and wharf for ships. Until later in the 16th century Dorchester merchants still exported goods through Weymouth, which apparently specialized in the Spanish trade, but the advance of Poole and the growth of Melcombe reduced its importance. It also suffered heavily from French raids, being inadequately protected by Sandsfoot castle, built by Henry VIII in the 1530s. In 1540 Weymouth was included in the Act for re-edifying of towns westward (32 Hen. VIII, c.19).

Wareham

Wareham was a relatively poor town, the inhabitants relying on the digging of clay for the pottery industry, the good herring and salmon fisheries and, according to Leland, the extensive cultivation of garlic. Cloth was produced, but apparently not on a large scale. By 1558, although it was still possible for quite large ships to reach Wareham, all hope of rivalling Poole as a port was dead; a survey of shipping taken in 1543 had listed no ships from Wareham.

Shaftesbury

When Leland visited Shaftesbury, probably soon after the dissolution in 1539 of its Benedictine abbey, he described it as ‘a great market town standing on an high hill, having four parish churches in it’. Until the Dissolution the crown held one moiety of the manor of Shaftesbury and the abbess the other; part of the crown’s interest, however, was granted to the abbess who paid a fee-farm of £12. The borough was not formally incorporated until 1604, but it had a mayor in Edward III’s reign and charters dating back to 1252.

Poole

A ‘member’ of the royal manor of Canford, Dorset, Poole was only in the hands of the crown at intervals between 1509 and 1558, being held successively by Henry Fitzroy, Duke of Richmond (1526-36), Henry Courtenay, Marquess of Exeter (1536-9), Edward Seymour, Duke of Somerset (1547-50) and Exeter’s widow Gertrude (1553-8). The stewards of Canford during the period included Henry Uvedale, Sir William Parr and John Paulet, Lord St.

Melcombe Regis

Leland described Melcombe, which he called Miltoun, as ‘a townlet on the hither side of the haven of Weymouth ... being privileged and having a mayor’. As ‘much the ancienter’, Weymouth constantly objected to the privileges granted to Melcombe, but as there was more room for expansion on that side of the harbour merchants tended to settle there until the rapid growth of Poole in the 15th century eclipsed both Melcombe and Weymouth. At the opening of the Tudor period neither was prosperous.

Lyme Regis

Described by Leland as ‘a pretty market town, set in the roots of a high rocky hill down to the hard shore’, having ‘good ships’ and a considerable cloth trade with Brittany, Lyme Regis was in fact a declining port which sought government help with increasing urgency from the middle of Henry VIII’s reign. In 1526 Lord Lisle confirmed an earlier grant of admiralty jurisdiction to the mayor and burgesses, but there was never enough money to fortify the town against threatened attack by the French.

Dorchester

An ancient royal borough and the shire town of Dorset, Dorchester possessed charters dating back to at least the early 14th century and had returned Members of Parliament since 1295. In 1485 it received additional privileges, including freedom from admiralty jurisdiction and from interference by royal household officials. The charter of 1610, which granted incorporation, probably did little more than formalize the existing constitution. This was in the hands of two bailiffs, two constables, a recorder and a common council of 15 capital burgesses.

Bridport

Leland described Bridport as ‘a fair large town’, a royal borough having ‘privilege for a market and two bailiffs’. Its charters, going back to at least the mid 13th century, were confirmed in 1490, 1549 and later. During the early 16th century it still owed a fee-farm to the crown. James I’s charter of 1619, often considered to mark the incorporation of the borough, probably describes the existing situation when it lays down that there shall be two bailiffs and 15 capital burgesses who are to elect the bailiffs annually from their number.

Dorset

Under the early Tudors Dorset was a more peaceable county than Devon or Cornwall although there was some slight trouble at the dissolution of the monasteries and rumours (apparently unfounded) circulated about disaffection in 1554 and 1557.