Edmund was one of the Beleyeter family living in ‘Stokfyshrow’ in Bishop’s Lynn in the 1340s. He entered the freedom of the borough on 13 Mar. 1364, having just finished his apprenticeship to a merchant,
John Brunham
†.
Beleyeter’s long involvement in town government included his nomination as one of the 12 electors of the municipal officers in August 1376, 1382 and 1383, and of the parliamentary representatives in 1376 and 1383. In 1395 and 1406 he stood surety for the appearance in Parliament of John Brandon and Thomas atte Brigge, respectively; and his name also appears on the election indenture of 1407.
Apparently while suffering from ill health, Beleyeter took out letters patent of exemption from holding royal office in November 1383, March 1384 and June 1406, the last describing him as 68 years old and ‘greatly broken by old age’.
Beleyeter’s properties in Lynn included three shops and buildings in ‘Fuller Row’, ‘Grass Market’, and Briggate (now High Street) which later passed to his son, Thomas, although certain of his holdings had been donated in 1384 for the foundation of the guild of St. Giles and St. Julian in St. James’s church. In 1406 he sued a man from Gaywood in the court of common pleas for burglary of goods worth £40. In addition, by then Beleyeter had become part-owner of two knights’ fees in Roydon, Grimston and Congham, and had acquired land in Clench Warton and Tilney as well as ‘Feltham’s’ manor in Great Massingham.
