The Colvilles had come over with the Conqueror by whom they were granted lands in Cambridgeshire before 1080. Later, though then seated in Suffolk at Carlton Colville, they became lords of the manors of Newton and Tydd St. Giles in the Isle of Ely and of Walsoken, Walton and Walpole, Norfolk, in the same coastal region near the Wash, through marriage to the heiress of Geoffrey de Marisco (fl.1268). Thereafter the family was prominently associated with Newton until the end of the 18th century. Our Sir John Colville’s father fought at Crécy and took part in the later French campaigns of Edward III,
To this annual income, probably exceeding £100, Colville added yet more through his marriage to Alice Lisle. His principal estates were held as a tenant of the bishop of Ely, and it may well be that the match had first been suggested by Alice’s kinsman, Bishop Thomas Lisle, whose turbulent career ended in 1361 with his death in exile at Avignon, after a violent quarrel with Edward III. But whether planned by the bishop or not, the marriage brought Colville an interest in Thomas Lisle’s manor and advowson of Great Staughton, Huntingdonshire. Even more important, Alice’s inheritance from her father included a moiety of the manor of Street in Kent as well as rents from other properties in the same county, which later gave the Colvilles an annual income of over £21, while from 1375 Sir John and his wife also held the manor of Fulbourn near Cambridge, although their continued possession entailed paying her kinsman Robert, Lord Lisle, and his wife for their lives an annuity of £20 charged on Colville’s own estate at Newton. Fulbourn was a valuable property, and with it went the patronage of the free chapel of St. Edmund situated near the manor-house. But the Colvilles encountered difficulties with their neighbours, Sir Hugh Zouche and his wife Philippa, who alleged at the assizes held in 1382 that they had altered the course of a stream, thereby preventing the Zouches’ mill from working. It is indicative of Colville’s standing and of his continued close relations with the bishops of Ely that when, in 1388, the archdeacon Thomas Feriby made his profession of obedience to the newly-installed bishop, John Fordham, the ceremony took place in the principal chamber of Colville’s house at Fulbourn.
Colville may have seen military service with his father on the campaign of 1359-60, for he would appear to have been knighted at about that time. Obscurity now clouds the motives for his actions in the spring of 1364 when he and his men, hastily assembled by the ringing of the town bell at Walsoken, rode out to rescue certain prisoners who had escaped from Wisbech castle pursued by a force led by the royally-appointed keeper of the castle, John Harling, and allegedly stole Harling’s horses and goods. Two royal commissions of oyer and terminer were set up to bring him to trial for this and other felonies. The incident had no serious effect on his career, and had evidently been forgotten by 1367 when he was appointed to his first royal commission. In June 1368 he obtained the King’s licence to go to Rome on a pilgrimage, taking with him four yeomen as an escort. Further military action followed as a member of the force serving at sea, probably in the summer of 1372, under the command of Humphrey de Bohun, earl of Hereford.
Colville obtained a papal licence to have a portable altar in November 1393, and died on 31 Jan. or 1 Feb. following.
