The Cundys had been prominent in Sandwich earlier in the 14th century, when Edward III had granted John Cundy (d.1345) the bailiwick of the town, subsequently giving him and his heirs in perpetuity a handsome annuity of £30 in lieu of the office. Following the death of John’s son William in 1368, this royal gift was received by the latter’s five sisters and their issue.
In November 1389 Peter gave evidence before a committee of the King’s Council about a Hanseatic ship which his father had captured seven years earlier and brought to Sandwich, where he himself had seen it. The cargo of wine was afterwards restored to its Portuguese owners, except for 14 tuns retained by the late Sir Robert Assheton, then warden of the Cinque Ports, and never returned, so far as Cundy knew.
